Health Information

Kenya is situated along the equator and enjoys a tropical climate with variations in temperatures, altitude and terrain within its different regions. Conditions vary across the country: the coastal region is warm and humid (20–30 degrees Celsius), the highlands are cooler (10–28 degrees Celsius) and the northern semi-arid region soars to temperatures of 20–40 degrees Celsius with minimal rainfall.

Kenya has modern healthcare facilities should they be needed. Medical insurance is necessary in case of unforeseen events, such as accidents or sudden illness that might require evacuation for treatment. The risk of malaria is low in Nairobi and the highlands (above 2,500m above sea level) of the Central, Eastern, Nyanza and Western Provinces of Kenya.

Yellow Fever Vaccination Certification

A valid Yellow Fever Vaccination Certificate is required for travellers entering Kenya from any country with risk of yellow fever virus transmission as listed in annex I of International Health Regulations. These include countries in Central Africa, West Africa, Eastern Africa, South America and Central America. In addition, the following measures are being implemented at points of entry:

  1. Travellers from any country reporting an outbreak of yellow fever disease must have valid Yellow Fever Vaccination Certificate (having been vaccinated 10 days before travel).
  2. Travellers from any country reporting an outbreak of yellow fever disease who are not citizens or residents of Kenya and do not have valid Yellow Fever Vaccination Certificates will be denied entry into the country.
  3. Travellers from any country reporting an outbreak of yellow fever who are citizens or residents of Kenya and do not have a valid Yellow Fever Vaccination Certificate will be isolated and held at the point of entry until yellow fever tests are completed.

Travellers Arriving From Countries Listed Below Are Required To Possess A Valid Vaccination Certificate For Yellow Fever

  • Angola
  • Argentina
  • Benin
  • Bolivia (Plurinational State of)
  • Brazil
  • Burkina Faso
  • Burundi
  • Cameroon
  • Central African Republic
  • Chad
  • Colombia
  • Congo
  • Côte d'Ivoire
  • Democratic Republic of Congo
  • Ecuador
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Ethiopia
  • Gabon
  • Gambia
  • Ghana
  • Guinea
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Guyana
  • Liberia
  • Mali
  • Mauritania
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Rwanda
  • Senegal
  • Sierra Leone
  • Sudan
  • Suriname
  • Togo
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Uganda
  • United Republic of Tanzania
  • Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of)


Some private hospitals in Nairobi:

Argwings Kodhek Rd, Nairobi
P.O. Box: 30026-00100 Nairobi GPO
Tel: +254 20 284 5000
Fax: +254 20 272 8003
Mobile: +254 72 22000

Aga Khan Hospital, 3rd Parklands Ave, Nairobi
P.O. Box: 30270-00100 Nairobi GPO
Tel: +254 20 366 2000
Mobile: +254 71 109 2000

Hurlingham Medical Plaza
Argwings Kodhek Road
Nairobi 00202, Kenya
Mobile: +254 73 361 8353 +254 72 824 9825

Dunga Rd, South B, Industrial Area, Nairobi
P.O. Box: 30325-00100 Nairobi GPO
Tel: +254 20 6903000
Fax: +254 20 6534289
Mobile: +254 71 907 3000 +254 73 216 3000 

Langata Rd, Karen
P.O. Box: 74240-00200
Nairobi, Kenya
Tel: +254 20 661 300
Fax: +254 20 661 3222

Shivachi Road, Parklands
P.O. Box 14497-00800
Nairobi, Kenya
Tel: +254 20 429 1000 +254 72 220 4427


© 2018 National Social Protection Secretariat. Concept by 24i